European Voices Award Jury

Tilo Beckmann

Tilo Beckmann is a german singer and arranger, who in 1983 founded the a cappella band 6-Zylinder, which he was a member of for 25 years. In 2008, he launched his agency leading-voices and became the manager of the vocal band Sonic Suite. He also manages the Münster Vocal Festival, coaches a cappella groups, is the 1. chairman of the European Voices Association (EVA) and the initiator of the European Voices Award.

Claire Wheeler

Clare Wheeler is a singer, composer, arranger, vocal coach, and workshop leader. She taught music theory and harmony at the Academy of Contemporary Music before joining five time Grammy winning vocal group The Swingles for 11 years, in 2007. She was a guest host of BBC Radio 2’s show The Choir, as well as arranger and vocal coach on the BBC One show Pitch Battle in 2017.

Winfried Fechner

Winfried Fechner is an actor, dramaturge and choir leader/manager. Since 1986, he is a music and culture editor with the Westdeutscher Rundfunk and an independent moderator. Additionally, he worked for the opera house in Dortmund in opera-introductions, presenting star guests and special gala events and produced several own shows. Since 1992, he has been in the music advisory board of the Doerken-Foundation.

Jim Daus Hjernøe

Jim Daus Hjernøe is a well known professor of denmark’s Royal Academy of Music in Aarhus. He is engaged in his innovative and revolutionary method of the Intelligent Choir. He tries himself in new forms of choral work through improvisation and Vocal Painting, which enable completely new experiences for all singers and choirs.